Narrative Strategies in the Poetry of George of Pisidia

Mag. Dr. Nicole Kröll, BA

Elise Richter Project V-803
Funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF)

https://m.pf.fwf.ac.at/de/wissenschaft-konkret/im-fokus-firnbergrichter/richter-liste/2020/197695

 

The research project Narrative Strategies in the Poetry of George of Pisidia (Elise Richter Project V-803) addresses the use of different poetic text forms and rhetorical strategies that George of Pisidia (approximately 580 to 630 AD) applies in his panegyric poems on the Byzantine emperor Heraclius (reigned 610 to 641 AD).

The poems will be read against the background of the literary models of antiquity and examined in their structure and function. The aim of the project is to gain a deeper understanding of the language, style and composition of Greek poetry at the transition from antiquity to the Middle Ages. Since George of Pisidia has, so far, received rather little attention in both classical and Byzantine studies, the project aims to fill a gap in this field of research.

 

 

 


 Recent publications by the project leader


Rezension

The Byzantine Review

The Byzantine Review

Kröll, Nicole: Rez. Michel Patillon (ed.), Sopatros: Commentaire sur l’Art d’Hermogène, (Collection des universités de France publiée sous le patronage de l’association Guillaume Budé). Paris: Les Belles Lettres 2019, in: The Byzantine Review 04.2022.016, 96-102.

doi: 10.17879/byzrev-2022-4286

Link to review

Contribution in collected volume

Kröll, Nicole, "Flüsse in den Dionysiaka des Nonnos von Panopolis".

In: Kay Ehling - Saskia Kerschbaum, eds., Göttliche Größe und gezähmte Gewalt. Flüsse vom babylonischen Euphrat bis zum römischen Rhein, Darmstadt: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft 2022 (Zaberns Bildbände zur Archäologie, Sonderbände der Antiken Welt), 79-85.

In his Dionysiaca, a 48-book Greek epic, Nonnos of Panopolis narrates the birth and life of the wine god Dionysus. Several rivers and streams of the eastern Mediterranean and of the Middle East play a vital role for the narration of this comprehensive epic.

ISBN 978-3-8053-5341-0

Link to publication

Contribution in collected volume

Martin Scheutz, Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten (Salzburg 2021).

Martin Scheutz, Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten (Salzburg 2021).

Kröll, Nicole, "Der Segen des Landes - die Pongauer Bergknappen im Spiegel der Chronik des Johann Stainhauser".

In: Martin Scheutz (ed.), Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten. Die Kapuzinermission im Salzburger Pongau 1613-1616 im Bericht von Johann Stainhauser (1570-1625) (Salzburg 2021, Salzburg Studien 22), 137-179.

This article deals with the Protestant miners in Salzburg's Gastein Valley as they are depicted in Johann Stainhauser's chronicle dating in the year of 1618. The source text bears witness to the confessionalisation processes undertaken under Prince-Archbishop Marcus Sitticus in Salzburg at the beginning of the 17th century. The miners appear as a distinctive social group who engages actively in the Lutheran Reformation.

The article also gives an overview of the history of mining in the Gastein Valley and places it in the context of early modern confessionalisation in the province of Salzburg.

ISBN 978-3-902582-13-3

Link to publication

Journal Article

Studien zur Wiener Geschichte – Jahrbuch des Vereins für Geschichte der Stadt Wien.

Kröll, Nicole, "Der Wiener Hausbesitz der Abensberg-Traun im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert", Studien zur Wiener Geschichte - Jahrbuch des Vereins für Geschichte der Stadt Wien 77 (2021), 25–56.

https://www.geschichte-wien.at/publikation/jahrbuch-2021/

This article discusses the house property of the aristocratic family of the Abensberg-Traun in the in the imperial city of Vienna in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Kröll, Nicole, "Introduction" to the Cluster on George of Pisidia

Link to paper

Overview on the poetry of George of Pisidia, current state of research and introduction to the cluster contributions:

Nicole KRÖLL, Introduction

Alice COSME, “Ποίαν γλώττης οὐκ ἐκίνησεν λύραν;” Poetic Style and Diction in the Bellum Avaricum of George of Pisidia

Anna Maria TARAGNA, Leo Choirosphaktes, Reader of George of Pisidia. Notes on the Language and Style of the So-Called Thousand-Line Theology

Nadine VIERMANN, Merging Supreme Commander and Holy Man. George of Pisidia’s Poetic Response to Heraclius’ Military Campaigns

Mary WHITBY, The Patriarch Sergius and the Theotokos

Journal article

Anales de filología clásica (Buenos Aires): La narración en Bizancio. Perspectivas narratológicas sincrónicas y diacrónicas

Kröll, Nicole, “Constructing Order through Narration: Narrator and Narratees in George of Pisidia’s Bellum Avaricum”, Anales de Filología Clásica 33.2 (2020), 75–86.

doi: 10.34096/afc.i33.10017

revistascientificas.filo.uba.ar/index.php/afc/article/view/10017/8772

The object of the paper is to analyse the roles of the narrator and the narratees in George of Pisidia’s Bellum Avaricum. The article puts forth the hypothesis that through the hierarchic relationship of narrator and narratees, the poet aims at mirroring the ideal form of kingship under the Christian emperor Heraclius (reg. 610-641 C.E.) both on a secular and spiritual level.

Collected volume

Myth, Religion, Tradition, and Narrative in Late Antique Greek Poetry (Wien 2020).

Kröll, Nicole, ed. Myth, Religion, Tradition, and Narrative in Late Antique Greek Poetry (Wien 2020, Wiener Studien Beihefte 41), 240 pp., paperback.

ISBN 978-3-7001-8584-0 (print)

ISBN 978-3-7001-8814-8 (e-book)

doi:10.1553/0x003bd7ee

www.austriaca.at/8584-0

The volume shows the manifold themes of Greek poetry in Late Antiquity. Pagan and Christian concepts merge in the works of Nonnus of Panopolis and in the Ekphrasis of John of Gaza, the poems of George of Pisidia are read against the background of late antique philosophy and the autobiographies of Gregory of Nazianzus as literary forms of expression. The ekphrastic narrative techniques of Quintus Smyrnaeus and the composition of characters in Colluthus are analyzed, and Lycophron is proved as another source of Nonnus’ Dionysiaka. The contributions also deal with mythological characters, cyclopes and elephants, and late antique epigrammatic poetry is contextualized in the cultural and literary environment of the time.

Contributors: Domenico Accorinti, Herbert Bannert, Ursula Gärtner, Marcelina Gilka, David Hernández de la Fuente, Nicole Kröll, Delphine Lauritzen, Frederick Lauritzen, Arianna Magnolo, Andreas Rhoby, Jan R. Stenger, Mary Whitby.

Erzähltechnik in den Dichtungen des Georgios Pisides

Mag. Dr. Nicole Kröll, BA

Elise-Richter-Projekt V-803
Gefördert durch den FWF - Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung

m.pf.fwf.ac.at/de/wissenschaft-konkret/im-fokus-firnbergrichter/richter-liste/2020/197695

 

 

Das Forschungsprojekt Erzähltechnik in den Dichtungen des Georgios Pisides (Elise-Richter-Projekt V-803) beschäftigt sich mit dem Einsatz unterschiedlicher poetischer Textformen und rhetorischer Strategien, die Georgios Pisides (ca. 580 bis 630 n. Chr.) in seinen panegyrischen Gedichten auf den byzantinischen Kaiser Herakleios (reg. 610 bis 641 n. Chr.) zur Anwendung bringt.

Die Gedichte werden vor dem Hintergrund der literarischen Vorbilder der Antike gelesen und in ihrem Aufbau und ihrer Funktion untersucht. Ziel des Projekts ist es, ein tieferes Verständnis von der Formensprache griechischer Dichtung am Übergang von der Antike zum Mittelalter zu erlangen. Da Pisides auch in der Forschungswelt bislang wenig behandelt wurde, möchte das Projekt eine immer noch bestehende Lücke schließen.

 

 


 Aktuelle Publikationen der Projektleiterin


Rezension

The Byzantine Review

The Byzantine Review

Kröll, Nicole: Rez. Michel Patillon (ed.), Sopatros: Commentaire sur l’Art d’Hermogène, (Collection des universités de France publiée sous le patronage de l’association Guillaume Budé). Paris: Les Belles Lettres 2019, in: The Byzantine Review 04.2022.016, 96-102.

doi: 10.17879/byzrev-2022-4286

Link zur Rezension

 

Artikel in Sammelband

Kröll, Nicole, "Flüsse in den Dionysiaka des Nonnos von Panopolis".

In: Kay Ehling - Saskia Kerschbaum, eds., Göttliche Größe und gezähmte Gewalt. Flüsse vom babylonischen Euphrat bis zum römischen Rhein, Darmstadt: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft 2022 (Zaberns Bildbände zur Archäologie, Sonderbände der Antiken Welt), 79-85.

In seinem 48 Bücher umfassenden griechischen Epos Dionysiaka, in dem Nonnos von Panopolis von der Geburt und vom Wirken des Weingottes Dionysos erzählt, spielen auch einige Flüsse des östlichen Mittelmeerraumes und des Orients eine zentrale Rolle im Erzählverlauf.

ISBN 978-3-8053-5341-0

Link zur Publikation

Artikel in Sammelband

Martin Scheutz, Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten (Salzburg 2021).

Martin Scheutz, Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten (Salzburg 2021).

Kröll, Nicole, "Der Segen des Landes - die Pongauer Bergknappen im Spiegel der Chronik des Johann Stainhauser".

In: Martin Scheutz (ed.), Predigt, Beichte und Soldaten. Die Kapuzinermission im Salzburger Pongau 1613-1616 im Bericht von Johann Stainhauser (1570-1625) (Salzburg 2021, Salzburg Studien 22), 137-179.

Der Beitrag widmet sich der Darstellung der protestantischen Bergknappen im Salzburger Gasteinertal, wie sie in der Chronik Johann Stainhausers aus dem Jahr 1618 wiedergegeben ist. Der Quellentext legt Zeugnis ab von den Konfessionalisierungsprozessen, die unter Fürsterzbischof Markus Sitticus in Salzburg zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts unternommen wurden, und lässt die soziale Gruppe der Bergleute als maßgebliche Akteure der lutherischen Reformation erscheinen.

Der Artikel gibt ebenfalls einen Überblick über die Geschichte des Bergbaus im Gasteinertal und stellt diesen in den Kontext der frühneuzeitlichen Konfessionalisierung im Land Salzburg.

ISBN 978-3-902582-13-3

Link zur Publikation

Zeitschriftenbeitrag

Studien zur Wiener Geschichte – Jahrbuch des Vereins für Geschichte der Stadt Wien.

Kröll, Nicole, "Der Wiener Hausbesitz der Abensberg-Traun im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert", Studien zur Wiener Geschichte - Jahrbuch des Vereins für Geschichte der Stadt Wien 77 (2021), 25-56.

https://www.geschichte-wien.at/publikation/jahrbuch-2021/

Der Beitrag beschäftigt sich auf der Grundlage von Mietverträgen aus dem Adelsarchiv der Abensberg-Traun mit dem Hausbesitz der Familie in der kaiserlichen Residenzstadt Wien im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert.

Kröll, Nicole, Einleitung zum Cluster über Georgios Pisides

Link zum Beitrag

Überblick über die Dichtungen des Pisides, die Forschungslage und Vorstellung der Beiträge des Clusters:

Nicole KRÖLL, Introduction

Alice COSME, “Ποίαν γλώττης οὐκ ἐκίνησεν λύραν;” Poetic Style and Diction in the Bellum Avaricum of George of Pisidia

Anna Maria TARAGNA, Leo Choirosphaktes, Reader of George of Pisidia. Notes on the Language and Style of the So-Called Thousand-Line Theology

Nadine VIERMANN, Merging Supreme Commander and Holy Man. George of Pisidia’s Poetic Response to Heraclius’ Military Campaigns

Mary WHITBY, The Patriarch Sergius and the Theotokos

Zeitschriftenbeitrag

Anales de Filología Clásica (Buenos Aires): La narración en Bizancio. Perspectivas narratológicas sincrónicas y diacrónicas

Kröll, Nicole, “Constructing Order through Narration: Narrator and Narratees in George of Pisidia’s Bellum Avaricum”, Anales de Filología Clásica 33.2 (2020), 75-86.

doi: 10.34096/afc.i33.10017

revistascientificas.filo.uba.ar/index.php/afc/article/view/10017/8772

Der Beitrag analysiert die Rollen des Erzählers (narrator) und der fiktiven Adressaten (narratees) im Gedicht "Bellum Avaricum" des Georgios Pisides. Es wird argumentiert, dass der Dichter durch das hierarchische Verhältnis von Erzähler und fiktiven Adressaten darauf abzielt, die ideale Form des Königtums unter dem christlichen Kaiser Herakleios (reg. 610-641 n. Chr.) auf weltlicher und sakraler Ebene zu spiegeln.

Sammelband

Myth, Religion, Tradition, and Narrative in Late Antique Greek Poetry (Wien 2020).

Kröll, Nicole, ed. Myth, Religion, Tradition, and Narrative in Late Antique Greek Poetry (Wien 2020, Wiener Studien Beihefte 41), 240 S., broschiert.

ISBN 978-3-7001-8584-0 (print)

ISBN 978-3-7001-8814-8 (digital)

doi:10.1553/0x003bd7ee

www.austriaca.at/8584-0

Der Band zeigt die vielfältigen Themen griechischer Dichtung in der Spätantike. In den Werken des Nonnos von Panopolis und in der Ekphrasis des Johannes von Gaza wirken heidnische und christliche Themen zusammen, die Dichtungen des Georgios Pisides werden vor dem Hintergrund spätantiker Philosophie gelesen und die Autobiographien Gregors von Nazianz als literarische Ausdrucksformen. Analysiert werden die ekphrastischen Erzähltechniken bei Quintus Smyrnaeus und die Figurenkomposition bei Kollouthos, zudem wird Lykophron als Quelle für die Dionysiaka des Nonnos beleuchtet. Gestalten der Mythologie begegnen sich ebenso wie Zyklopen und Elefanten, und spätantike Epigrammatik wird im kulturellen und literarischen Umfeld der Zeit kontextualisiert.

Beiträger*innen: Domenico Accorinti, Herbert Bannert, Ursula Gärtner, Marcelina Gilka, David Hernández de la Fuente, Nicole Kröll, Delphine Lauritzen, Frederick Lauritzen, Arianna Magnolo, Andreas Rhoby, Jan R. Stenger, Mary Whitby.